jump to navigation

Happy turkey day November 26, 2007

Posted by Anders in Exchange student, Exchangeprogram, Hostfamily, Thanksgiving, USA.
trackback

I have a lot of stuff to tell. Thursday we celebrated the all american holiday Thanksgiving. It was a lot of fun. We ate at about 3 o’clock in the afternoon, and there was a lot of food. My mom cooked for over 7 hours total, so there were both turkey, stuffing, sweet potatoes, mashed potatoes, vegetables and a lot of other nice stuff. The dinner itself only took about half an hour, not like in Denmark where we sit around for hours eating all the time. If my family ever come to Denmark, I have to show them how we have good eating parties. After we had eaten, everyone dissapeared to various couches in the house, and I went upstairs and had a long talk on the phone with my dad back in Denmark. It was really nice to talk to him again, and I told him about the thanksgiving holiday. I really miss him. I even got a little homesick when I talked to him. After I had talked to him, I went downstairs and had pie. We had this amazing chocolate pie, which tasted so good, and I really loved it. There was also pumpkin pie, but I didn’t taste that until yesterday. It was very different, but it tasted okay. It actually tasted a bit like nuts.

Friday was Black Friday. This day is the biggest shopping day in America. All the stores have incedible sales, and they open at 4 or 5 o’clock in the morning. We went to a store that opened at 4, and we were standing out there about 5 minutes before it opened. There were already a long line of people waiting outside the shopdoors. We didn’t want to stand in line, so we did like many other people did, standing some feet away from the door, so we could cut some of the people in front. The only problem was that some people were complaining about us. There was actually a woman who called me “dumbass”, because I got in behind her. I don’t know why she cared so much. Anyway, I bought a lot of presents for my family, and it was a very weird day, since I only had 2 hours of sleep before we went on the shopping spree. It’s also a bit hard to go shopping from 4 o’clock in the morning till 11 o’clock in the afternoon. After that I slept almost all day.

Saturday was pretty relaxing until Shane (29 year old brother) and I had to put christmas lights up outside. Only thing was that we had to get up on the roof on the house, and it was dark while we put it up. We had to put the lights all over the roof, so the front of the house was covered in christmas lights. I was quite a frightful experience, since I am not very good with heights, and the house is about 2 and a half story high, so there was a long way down. Plus it was freezing outside. Other than that, it was quite a funny experience.

This little holiday was a very good one, both with good times and bad times, because I felt a little bit homesick.

Comments»

1. Kusine Christina - November 29, 2007

hvor mærkeligt i kun spiste i ½ time O.o
Til vores familiemiddage plejer de voksne jo at sidde og æde hele dagen 😛

håber du har det godt i usa min fætter 😉


Leave a Reply

