jump to navigation

What would have happened? January 2, 2008

Posted by Anders in Exchange student, Exchangeprogram, Feelings, Hostfamily, USA.
trackback

The clock is about 1:30 in the morning, and I am sitting  up, wondering. I am wondering about how it all would have been, if I had stayed at Revere High School and my old hostfamily. I know for once, that I would have had my chance to be in Marching Band and play trumpet, which I am so mad that I didn’t get to do at Norton. I was looking at some pictures from the Revere Band Camp, and thinking back, I had a really good time back then. Revere was a nice school, I had a great time, and I got some good friends there. Was it a bad choice to move school? If I look away from my problems with Bassel, I did really have a good time, but then when I look back at some emails I sent my dad, I was really having a bad time at my hostfamily. And that’s what it’s all about, isn’t it? How your relationship with your family is, right? You know, I really love my family here, I consider myself really really lucky to be a part of it, but you can still wonder: How would life have been if I had stayed at Revere. Would I even have met all the friends I have now, like see them at competitions and stuff like that? Would I have been able to participate in any school activities, because my hostmother couldn’t drive me, and the school would be 8 miles away? I could probably have gotten some rides from other people, but what about the fact, that my hostbrother always wanted to do the same stuff I did, even though if he hated it. But still, I would have gone to a good school, I would have some wonderful friends.

But could I live with the fights? With either him in tears or me in tears. I remember this clearly: It was about a week and a half after I arrived. I had told my hostbrother I would go and take a walk, and I sat down by a tree at the end of the driveway to my neighbourhood. I called my dad, and I cried so bad under the whole conversation. I remember I told him I just wanted to go home, that I couldn’t do this, I told him about the fights between me and the hostbrother, that he wanted to be with me all the time and I wanted personal space too. I kinda feel bad for crying under that whole conversation, because my dad would probably have been worried sick about it, but this was how I felt. Could I take that for a whole year? No. I met some extremes at that house and that experience with that family was not a very good one. The worst thing is, that it is happening all over again, just with another foreign exchange student. While I got out of there, I am not so sure that he got out of there, and I am officially not allowed to talk to him or take contact with him.

You know, in the end it was probably a good idea to switch families. I love my family, and they are the nicest people in the world! I am sure I will come back again and again.

By the way, it is almost 2 o’clock now, and I better get some sleep. I have promised myself to get up at 10, so I wont sleep so late. Lately I have been waking up around 2 o’clock in the afternoon.

Comments»

1. Dad Peter - January 2, 2008

Dear Anders, I remember that telephone concasation from the tre on the road. I was so close to come and take you home, but today I am convinced you wold have regret this. I am happy for the good help we got from the student organisation and the fact you could move to this good family. You are so philosophic now it is hollyday my boy. Take care and keep in tuch on messenger to. Dad

2. Anders - January 2, 2008

No. I don’t really feel that I got very good help from the right people! Remember, it was Nariman who found my new hostfamily, not my area representative. If it was up to her, she would have let me rotten up there. The only help I got was from the danish organisation, and then by the New York Office. It should never have gone that far.

3. louni - January 6, 2008

Dearest Anders!
It’s good you moved to your new hostfamily, cause I know you, and I know that you wouldn’t be able to take that anymore! You’re a strong person, but also a sensitive person! And such fights with family, no one can take! Believe me when I say that you shouldn’t feel sorry, for anything you’ve done, cause you’ve done great!
I miss you

/Yours

4. Anders - January 6, 2008

Yeah I am glad I changed family too. It was at the end of the rope, and the hostmom blamed me for everything.!


Leave a Reply

