jump to navigation

Going back soon July 2, 2008

Posted by Anders in Exchange student, Exchangeprogram, Feelings, Friends, Hostfamily, USA.
trackback

It is kinda weird.

In 4 days I am going to say goodbye to my life here in America, goodbye to my family, leave everything behind. I have already said goodbye to my friends, exchanged emails, addresses and what have you. I am completely booked up until I leave, since there is so much to do before I leave and so little time.

I wont say that I don’t wanna leave America, but on the other hand it’s gonna be really sad when I leave. The friendships I’ve made, my new family, will be with me forever. When I go home I will still be able to talk to them, and hopefully keep in contact for a long time. I love all my friends, and my family, and it is gonna be really sad to say goodbye to them.

On the other hand, I still have friends waiting for me at home, looking forward to see me, and it feels really good that there is people that actually care about me and looking forward to see me again. I can’t wait to see them either, and it’s gonna be so nice to see them again.

In a way it really sucks emotionally to be a foreign exchangestudent. First, you leave your family, friends and pets for a whole year, and miss them a lot. Then you create new friendships while you are away, create new bonds, which you have to leave after a year. I don’t say that I regret being a foreign exhcangestudent. I will never regret at all that I took this decision, but let me say, it is very emotional to be a foreign exchangestudent, especially now, when I am about to say goodbye to everybody, and they all want me to stay here. This leads me back to my first point. 

It is very hard to leave everyone, and one part of me would give everything to stay another year here in Ohio, but the other part of me can’t wait to get home to see my friends, family, and of course my cat. I have missed that little furball so much, that it is not even funny. He was my buddy before I left, and I really hope he still remembers me when I come back. He would always sleep in my chair right besides my bed, and he was just overall my buddy, even though I could get really mad at him, like the time he had laid on my black shirt so it was full of white cat hair, or the time he had peeed on my pants, and I had taken them on when they had dried, and when they got wet again, it smelled like I was the one who had pee’d my pants.

This will probably be my last big post, before I leave, since it seems I have so much to do before I leave. I mean it is already wednesday today, and I leave sunday morning, and before that I have to squeeze in a Cedar Point trip (tomorrow), 4th of juli celebration, visit at the Vaill (really nice teacher couple), get family photo taken, use my giftcards, and a lot of more stuff. I am basicly completely booked before I go back.

By the way I am arriving at the Copenhagen Airport at 9:00 am monday morning, just so you know.

Comments»

1. Desaree - May 23, 2011

Awkward question. How did you become to be a foreign exchange student? and How did you like America? Was it your first time here? I was just on the internet and looking up 100 questions for my senior portfolio for class when I saw your blog. Very interesting things here.


Leave a Reply

